London

I took a late flight into London, arriving around 23.30, ready to hop on a train to King’s Cross were I would meet Emmett, my second cousin who I was staying with. Amazingly enough, I think I had more trouble figuring out the trains in English than I’ve had in any other country.

When we got to the house I took a headed straight to bed, and woke up early the next morning to play with my adorable little third cousins, Tom & Joe, who I hadn’t seen in five years—when they were babies. Again, I marveled at the fact that I might have struggled more to understand their accents than I do to understand my Danish host sister.

I headed out to see some of the typical London sights; Big Ben, The Eye, Trafalgar Square, as well as walking along the south bank of the Thames, and visiting the Tate Gallery.

Big Ben & The Eye

Big Ben & The Eye

Southbank

Southbank

Trafalgar

Trafalgar

My family also surprised me also with a ticket to a Bastille concert that night, which was fantastic.

Bastille

Angel Haze opening for Bastille

The next day was more exploring, and I found my way to the Borough Market underneath London Bridge, which was simply paradise. It was jam packed with cheese, sweets, and various ethnic foods.

A shot of the iconic bridge

A shot of the iconic bridge

IMG_0988 IMG_0989

My favorite part of London

My favorite part of London

I also went to both the Natural History Museum and the Victoria and Albert Gallery. One noticeable positive difference between London and Rome is that all the museums in London are free, which is a blessing in a generally expensive city.

IMG_0971

Fashion exhibit in Victoria & Albert Gallery

Ridiculous Sleeves

Later I headed home to eat Indian food and watch a movie with family, because I was set to take a train to the airport at 4 am the next day in order to catch my 6.30 flight to Berlin.

My time in London was particularly enjoyable because spending time with family is always relaxing to me, and it was fantastic to get to see relatives that I rarely see because of the distance between The States and Europe. But I also felt particularly at home in the massive city, and it’s the first place that I’ve visited since moving to Copenhagen that I like just as much, and could even imagine moving to. Although the English may have had something to do with it, I think the vibe was more relevant.

Famous Pedestrian Bridge

Famous Pedestrian Bridge

The Shard

The Shard

In front of Shakespeare's Globe Theatre

In front of Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre

Iconic

Iconic

I can’t thank my cousins, Sam, Emmett and Kim enough for being enormously gracious (despite my terribly inconvenient flight times) and spoiling me rotten while I was in London. Unfortunately, two days is really not enough time to see the city, so I’ll definitely be returning at some point in the future, hopefully sooner rather than later.

Leave a Reply

