Berlin

Reichstag- German Parliamant

Reichstag- German Parliament

The last leg of my trip was Berlin. I flew out of London on a 6.30 am flight on just 4 hours of sleep, and arrived in Berlin around 10 am, and took a train to Ostbahnhoff to meet an old family friend, Maria who I’d be staying with.

IMG_1008

The Wall

The Wall

Maria was a German volunteer who interned at the Waldorf School my mom worked at six years ago when she was my age. This is my third trip to Europe in four years, and now I’ve FINALLY managed to get myself to visit her in Berlin.

More Solperstein in Berlin

More Solperstein in Berlin

I loved that I immediately found the “stumbling stones” that I learned about in Hamburg a month ago.

Brandenburg Gate

Brandenburg Gate

Despite being exhausted, I again had only two days, so rest would have to wait. We set out, and she showed me all her favorite parts of Berlin, pointing out the neighborhood where she was born on the West side, translating graffiti, and narrating history along with the landmarks.

Old Bridge between East & West Berlin

Old Bridge between East & West Berlin

The River

The River

Delicious Baklava

Delicious Baklava

Seeing a city with the guidance of someone who lives there is truly the best way to do it. After the long day, we took a quick siesta before heading back out for Turkish food (Turkish Mocha is far superior to Italian espresso), cocktails and then a club to dance. We made it home around 6 am, at which point I had been awake for 25 hours straight, and collapsed for a couple hours of sleep.
On Sunday, we managed to wake up at 11.30, but somehow our talkative brunch ended up lasting 4 hours, so we had just a few hours before I had to head to the airport to catch my flight home to Copenhagen. Overall my time in Berlin was great because I got to catch up with an old friend, be shown around by a local, and revel in how cheap the city was compared to Copenhagen, Rome, & London.

Leave a Reply

