Vinterbad: taking the plunge.

Despite the fact that today it was slightly below freezing, I (along with another hundred DIS students) jumped into the harbor for a truly immersive viking experience. Surprisingly, I loved it. The water was definitely cold, but I would definitely do it again.

Many Danes are quick to mention all the health benefits to cold water swimming, and my 8 year old host sister swims several times a week, year round.

Image

Øresundskolligiet does vinterbad

I’m proud that there were ten of us from our Kollegium, thanks to the encouragement from Emil and Mette, the SRAs.

Mette managed to get photos of people taking the plunge

Mette managed to get photos of people taking the plunge

Unfortunately, I didn’t make it into the photo of everyone jumping, because I had already plunged into the water, to insure that I wouldn’t chicken out.

trying to get warm as quickly as possible

trying to get warm as quickly as possible

After we all headed back to the kollegium for hot coco and American pancakes to warm up and hygge sig sammen. Given my experience today, I would definitely recommend at least one cold water swim if you’re ever in Copenhagen.

Leave a Reply

