Helsingør

100_0770

In recent news, Krogerup is deathly quiet right now because the students who are enrolled in the hojskole are traveling in various parts of the world. The various classes are traveling in several different exotic locations right now, each corresponding to what they have been discussing in their informal classes. The film class is in Los Angeles, Urban Planning & Photography are in China, Journalism is in Bhutan, “Crossing Borders” will be traveling around other parts of Denmark and “The World is Burning” is split into two sections, one in Mexico and the other in Burma.

The only perk of living in a haunted(yes haunted, but that’s a post for another day), deserted old colonial house is that I will hopefully be able to get all of my work together without distractions. But since I SHOULD be studying right now, obviously I’m blogging instead.

So on a fun, tourist-y note, Nathan and I went to Helsingor yesterday, specifically because he needed to get his bike fixed and because I needed to find a watch (since the loss of my iphone I essentially never know what time it is,) both efforts were successful, so we decided to spend an hour or so exploring Helsingør.

Image

Typical European picturesque-ness

Now “Helsingør” might just sound like any other town, but the word actually is the Danish version of Elsinore, aka the home of my favorite Shakespearean, suicidal, Danish Prince, Hamlet. So naturally, there’s a castle.

Image

Hamlet’s Castle

Before coming to Denmark, my reaction to the castle would have been a very surface level, “oooh that’s pretty” kind of reaction, but since I’m taking “Copenhagen History: Structure, Planning & Design,” a class that covers both the urban planning and the stylistic evolution of architecture in Copenhagen, so I had significantly more appreciation for the scrolling gables and baroque spires of the castle than I would have before.

Image

Crossing the mote to Hamlet’s Castle

In particular, I absolutely must mention how cool bastioned ramparts are as both a development in military technology and a design feature, I could definitely geek out about them for a good twenty minutes, but I’ll spare you the torture.

Image

This is a rampart, but it doesn’t even begin to explain how cool and important they are.

Another cool thing about Helsingor is that you can actually see Sweden across the sound, and even take a 15 minute ferry ride to Helsingbro, Sweden.

Image

Sweden on the other side

Image

ferry going to Sweden

Other cool things that were in Helsingor include these BOMB children’s forts made from scrap woodImage

While Helsingor may be the only  activity that has yielded nice photos (partially because I no longer have an iPhone) in the last week I’ve also: attended a lecture with a woman from an anti trafficking NGO, gone to two museums for free because of Kulternatten (The culture night) festival on friday, went on a DIS sponsored Danish beer tasting pub crawl, ordered food in Danish several times, and gave a tourist directions.

Leave a Reply

