Bikes in CPH

images

I mentioned before that we got bikes last week, which has made the journey from Krogerup to the Train Station exponentially faster. I know it’s only been a week or so, but I might be in love. I used to bike all the time when I was a kid growing up in Florida, but ever since I moved to Tennessee when I was 16, I left my fixie behind because it was not made for the hills of Appalachia, and have pretty much been on a bike hiatus for the last four years.

Just trying to assimiliate

Just trying to assimilate

I knew coming to Denmark that I would probably want a bike. I knew from the internet and people’s past experience that biking is extremely prevalent, I even knew that Amsterdam and Copenhagen have a constant rivalry about which city is the “bike city.” Despite “knowing” all this, nothing can really prepare you for how overwhelmingly present the bikes are…everywhere. The infrastructure of the city is designed with the (true) assumption that everyone bikes in mind.

Bike rides in the Danish Countryside

Bike rides in the Danish Countryside

I actually don’t bike in Copenhagen (because taking my bike back and forth on the 30 minute train ride every day would be a hassle) but I have taken to riding my bike out in the countryside. However,  I am planning on taking my bike into the city for exploration purposes when I get some free time on my hands.

One comment

Leave a Reply

