Day 26

Well the big news of the day is that my iphone is gone. Considering my generally good history of not losing things, and the fact that several people bumped into me unnecessarily on a crowded bus minutes before I realized it was missing, I’m pretty sure that I was pickpocketed. I got off the bus and retraced my steps back to the shop on Stefansgade where I knew I had it last, because I took a picture of the sign as I walked in.

But on a positive note, it could have been much worst. My wallet, with cash, IDs, credit cards, and transportation pass are all safe and sound. I’m also extremely glad that I made the choice not to upgrade my phone this past summer when I was due, because then I’d be shit out of luck for a phone when I got back to the U.S.  As of now, when I return to the US I’ll just get a new phone. Not having a smartphone will probably even have some benefits, I’ll break the habit of constantly checking it, and live a little more simply for a while.  I still have my international PicCell phone that texts in t9 and whatnot. The worst parts of the situation are definitely losing my pictures and not having an iPod, followed by the fact that I no longer have the ability to instagram or snapchat. It’s a rough life, I know.

Even though a lot of pictures were lost with the loss of my phone, here are some random vignettes of my time abroad so far.

One of the Hostels we stayed at in Sweden during core course week

One of the Hostels we stayed at in Sweden during core course week

IMG_3384

The Night Box at Krogerup Højskole

The night box is a common room at the høskole that none of the staff ever enters, it’s covered in random art and graffitti, and has a couple couches and a fooseball table.

IMG_3386

A blurry photo of the market in Israel Plads

IMG_3387

Flowers in Israel Plads

IMG_3390

Iconic “Fire Houses” of København. They were all built after the fire of 1728, and most of them were destroyed when another large fire ravished Copenhagen in 1795.

IMG_3400

A view of København H or Copenhagen Central train station on the walk to Vesterboro

IMG_3407

The storage room in the back of the original Mikkeller in Vesterboro

IMG_3419

Malmö, Sweden: an example of Dutch Renaissance architecture, characterized by red brick and sandstone detailing.

IMG_3426

St. Petri in Malmö, built in Northern Gothic style

IMG_3439

Kiviks Musteri, an apple orchard in Sweden

IMG_3442

Some of the (canned/pickled?) apples from the Orchard

IMG_3444

The apple juice factory at Kiviks Musteri

IMG_3454

Swedish countryside running right into the Ocean

IMG_3460

Wind turbines are everywhere in Scandinavia

IMG_3488

Cliffs overlooking the Baltic Sea in Löderup, Sweden

IMG_3489

Ales Stenar (Ale’s Stones) monument in Sweden often compared to Stone Henge, possibly an ancient burial ground.

IMG_3491

Touristy pictures at Ales Stenar

IMG_3498

Picturesque village in Löderup, Sweden.

IMG_3503

Sheep running around freely at a manor house

These sheep were comically loud, and I wish I could link you to one of the vines of them baying incessantly at us.

IMG_3517

Christinehofs Ecopark, a “castle” in Sweden.

Despite the fact that I was taking most of my pictures on my phone, thankfully I had the foresight to bring a point and shoot camera, so I’ll still be able to visually document my travels and adventures.

Leave a Reply

