Week 2: New Adventures.

I just returned from a fantastic DIS planned “Adventure Trip” of canoeing, orienteering and rappelling in the Swedish countryside. And as much as I hate the idea of a play by play of my weekend, that’s pretty much how this will be structured, because I’m not quite clever enough to include everything in a more creative format. (ALSO: fair warning, this post is super image heavy, so prepare to be jealous of Sweden’s beauty)

On Friday I took the train into the city so I could finally “go out” in Copenhagen. Huge shout out to Uppi (who is awesome and blogs HERE ) who let me stay at her Kollegium on friday night so I wouldn’t have to wake up at 5 am on Saturday.

Uppi (who rocks for having my back) and I

Uppi (who rocks for having my back) and I

We had a couple beers with other DIS students who lived in her Kollegium in the communal kitchen, (it was interesting how drastically the living environment differs from Krogerup) and headed out to a club in the Norreport neighborhood at midnight. It’s essential to mention how late the nightlife in Denmark goes, coming home at 4, 5 or even 6 is extremely normal in Copenhagen. Personally, I’d prefer to be in bed by 2 or 3, even on the weekends, but I guess I’ll have to become a night owl for the purpose of immersion. Later in the evening we got lost, so we didn’t make it home until 3:30.

I managed to squeeze in about 3 hours of sleep before I dragged my grumpy self to the metro to meet the DIS group for departure. There was 34 DIS students, mostly people I’d never even met and a few acquaintances, but jumping off cliffs (more on that later) tends to bond you to people, so I guess I have 20+ new friends. Our Charter bus drove about an hour North so we could catch a ferry to Sweden.

The ferry put the NYC Staten Island ferry to shame, it was HUGE, luxurious, and got us to Sweden in about 15 minutes. We all complained about the EU’s lack of border control, mostly because we all wanted more passport stamps, and you essentially don’t get any if you’re traveling within Europe once you’ve entered the EU). One of the shops on the ferry was also offering free Whiskey samples, and being the American college kids we are, we all had shots at 8 am, an interesting wake up alternative to coffee. Only in Europe.

Once in Sweden, we went to a river to drop some canoes in the water for the first portion of our adventure: 3 miles of Canoeing down the Ronne River in the Swedish countryside.

Canoeing on the Ronne River

Canoeing on the Ronne River

3 miles might be an easy run or walk, but as a canoe trip it felt pretty long, especially considering I was running on 3 hours of sleep, a chocolate pastry, a shot of whiskey and a cup of tea. By the end of it, I was definitely ready for lunch at the hostel.

Our Hostel

Our Hostel

The countryside surrounding our hostel

The countryside surrounding our hostel

Next we were headed for a hike to see the Nimis driftwood scultures on the coast. Which are absolutely sickeningly cool.

IMG_3268

Up in a Driftwood Tower.

IMG_3265 IMG_3266 IMG_3269 IMG_3270 IMG_3271 IMG_3272 IMG_3274 IMG_3275 IMG_3276

Fun fact: the area that these sculptures reside in was declared a micronation in 1996 called Ladonia because of a battle between the artist and the Swedish authorities. It has a motto, a flag and a national anthem.

That evening we did barbeque and smores and just hung out around the hostel. Luckily one of the guides even had Cards Against Humanity (if you don’t know what that is read this) which made for a great evening.

I was pretty exhausted so I headed to bed around 11:30 or 12, and slept like a rock. It’s been a while since I shared a room with anyone, so formal apologies to  my roomates Emma and Michelle, who I forgot to warn that I talk in my sleep. WHOOPS.

In the morning we were up by 8 for a delicious breakfast, and then off for more adventures. We were split into two groups for activities. My group was assigned for “Orienteering” for the first half of the day, which was supposed to be puzzles and activities at various sites, but ended up being exploring the beautiful landscapes.

IMG_3298 IMG_3299

some people even went swimming down by these crazy rocks, but I was not about getting beat up by rocks, several of them came out bleeding.

IMG_3300 IMG_3302

There were wild blackberries EVERYWHERE, so I snacked on those the entire time. IMG_3307 IMG_3313

After wandering around in the cliffs, we ate lunch in the bus, taking shelter from the storm that came out of nowhere. Luckily it blew over quick, because after lunch it was our groups turn to go rappelling down the sides of the cliffs.

IMG_3321

If you look closely you can see a group rappelling

I’m absolutely terrified of heights, I hyperventilate during vertigo movie scenes, and I couldn’t even look over the edge of these cliffs without my stomach dropping into my feet until I was actually strapped in.  We had two cliffs, one “smaller,” (picture above) relatively flat cliff, and a higher, more uneven one.

IMG_3326

The bigger cliff

IMG_3317

Smaller “practice” cliff

IMG_3314

Emma & I are ready to go. and not scared at all.

IMG_3330 IMG_3322

I’m proud to say I managed to muster up the courage to do both, even though I was definitely unsure about the larger one. After everyone had done the cliffs, we headed back to the bus so we could head home.

About ten minutes into the bus ride, our drive, René (who was absolutely hilarious, telling deadpan jokes the entire time) pulled over and told us that we were going swimming. Luckily, this was a joke, because I was absolutely exhausted, and we were actually going to Flickorna Lundgarden, a place that’s famous for its fantastic pastries, and apparently Swedish royalty used to frequent the café/pastry house/garden/tea room hybrid.

IMG_3337

These pastries were absolutely NOT overrated.

IMG_3342 IMG_3338

When we finally made it back to Denmark I ditched the trip after the ferry so I could take the train 3 stops from Helsingor to Humlebaek instead of going all the way back to Copenhagen with the group. I even made it home in time to grab some of the leftover dinner at Krogerup.

 

PS: if you’re hungry for even MORE pictures, my instagram will soon be even more obnoxious than this post.

2 comments

  1. as a cheesy kid who loves shit like this, I am SO PROUD of you for dealing with the rappelling and (as i interpreted it) overcoming your fear of heights. if you’re like me, going abroad was a big jump out of a comfort zone so GO BIG OR GO HOME amirite? let’s go out together sometime kthx

Leave a Reply

